Peet Brits

Hmm, but that doesn't make any sense…

What makes time tick?

Posted by Peet Brits on December 13, 2008


[I wrote this article over a year ago, 16-Nov-2007 to be exact, and originally published it on my facebook account.  I decided to publish it again on this blog because I really like the message.]

Did you ever wonder why time passes so quickly when you are enjoying yourself?  Why does water never boil when you are staring at it?  More importantly, have you ever came to the end of a year and wonder what you did during the past year?  What happened to the time?

I noticed something interesting by comparing these last two years.  This past year went by at an amazing speed.  It still feels like yesterday when I started with my new job in March.  The previous year, on the other hand, felt like a decade.  This is not because I was bored; in fact, I probably had many more activities that year than this.

So, what is the difference?

Where did I miss out?

As I pondered over these questions, I thought of all the things I did over these two years.  What I noticed was that two years ago I had a certain event that was a highlight of every week.  My whole week would build up towards that certain activity.  This year, however, the time just seemed to pass by.  Sure, I still had fun activities every week, like my rock climbing, but somehow each moment simply dragged on into the next.

This year I also spent most of the time wondering what happened to my time.  I noticed that I spend many more hours at work and in traffic.  This is something that I plan to change in the near future.  I no longer see the point in working overtime.  It is a fact that I am far less original and inventive when overworked and tired, but that is a completely different topic altogether.

What is the point of this?

Why would I even write this if it feels like I have no time to begin with?

I am still putting together all the pieces, but it seems like one must make time count.  In a world where everyone believes time is money, I must stop and quote what I heard from a certain Jean Symons: “Love is time”.  Find what you love in life and dedicate your time to it.  I believe you will surely reap the rewards.

Quotes

Time is free, but it’s priceless. You can’t
own it, but you can use it. You can’t keep
it, but you can spend it. Once you’ve lost it
you can never get it back.
Harvey MacKay

Time is an illusion. Lunchtime doubly so.
Douglas Adams  (I couldn’t resist…)

Dost thou love life? Then do not squander time, for that’s the stuff life is made of.
Benjamin Franklin

My history is like a long dark tunnel with a few lighthouses of significant events on the way.
The Textures of Silence, (my own translation)
(Thus, if you do not add the significance of passion, love, or any other strong emotion into these moments, your whole life falls into a series of events simply flowing into one another.  Then, when you look back on a year, all you see is a dark tunnel).

One Response to “What makes time tick?”

  1. maoyc said

    Thanks for sharing!
    You are absolutely right, time is precious, especially the periods when we were in our childhood and youth.

Leave a Reply

 
